Université Du Québec, Quebec, Canada




Social Media

About Institution

The University was established in 1981 under the government of René Lévesque (Parti Québécois), although university courses had been available in the region since 1971 (delivered by the Services universitaires dans l'Outaouais, or SUO).

Formerly known as the Université du Québec à Hull (UQAH), UQO changed its name in 2002 when the cities of Hull, Gatineau, Aylmer, Masson-Angers and Buckingham were amalgamated to form the new City of Gatineau. The University's new name reflects the administrative region of Outaouais, in which it is based.

About 5,500 students enrol in UQO courses each year. While this is the lowest enrolment in the Université du Québec system, the number of students is steadily rising, creating demand for more courses, programs and resources. The academic staff comprises some 175 full-time professors and 565 lecturers.

In the past 25 years, UQO has granted close to 30,000 degrees. The University is also one of the main contributors to the qualified workforce in the region, along with the University of Ottawa, Carleton University, La Cité collégiale, Algonquin College and the Cégep de l'Outaouais.


Similar Universities

Laval University

Quebec, Canada
Rank: 15, Year: 2018

University of Ottawa

Ontario, Canada
Rank: 13, Year: 2018

Simon Fraser University

British Columbia, Canada
Rank: 11, Year: 2018

Got a query, Get in touch (+)