University Of Sheffield, South Yorkshire, United Kingdom




Social Media

About Institution

The University of Sheffield (informally Sheffield University) is a public research university in Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England. It received its royal charter in 1905 as successor to the University College of Sheffield, which was established in 1897 by the merger of Sheffield Medical School (founded in 1828), Firth College (1879) and Sheffield Technical School (1884).

Sheffield is a multi-campus university predominantly over two campus areas: the Western Bank and the St George's.The university is organised into five academic faculties composed of multiple departments. It had 20,005 undergraduate and 8,710 postgraduate students in 2016/17. The annual income of the institution for 2016–17 was £623.6 million of which £155.9 million was from research grants and contracts, with an expenditure of £633.0 million.Sheffield ranks among the top 10 of UK universities for research grant funding.



Similar Universities

University of Nottingham

Nottinghamshire, United-Kingdom
Rank: 13, Year: 2018

University of Sheffield

South Yorkshire, United-Kingdom
Rank: 16, Year: 2018

University of Warwick

England, United-Kingdom
Rank: 10, Year: 2018

Got a query, Get in touch (+)